Tuesday, June 1, 2021

Travellers From Austria, Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Poland & Italy Can Now Visit Cyprus Only With Test Results

The Cyprus Authorities have updated the epidemiologically high-risk list of COVID-19 on May 31, moving several countries from red to the orange category, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

Based on the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) regulation, including European Union, European Economic Area and some third countries, Cyprus started applying the traffic light system, categorizing the countries in green, red and orange lists depending on their COVID-19 situation.

Travellers are subject to entry restrictions when arriving in Cyprus, based on the category under which their country falls.

Starting on May 31, Cyprus will cease requiring any COVID-19 test certificate or quarantine for any travellers coming from countries moved to the green list.

The updated green list, representing the low risk of COVID-19, remains the same as the one published on May 25, with countries as follows:

  • European Union member states: Malta
  • Schengen members: Iceland
  • Third countries: Saudi Arabia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Israel, Australia

Passengers coming from countries on the orange list are required to provide a negative PCR laboratory test result within 72 hours before departure.

Besides Romania, the United States of America and Thailand, which were moved last week to this category, other countries added to the orange list from the increased risk category (red list) are Austria, Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Poland and Italy.

Currently, countries on Cyprus’ orange list are:

  • European Union member states: Portugal, Ireland, Finland, Romania, Austria, Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Poland, Italy
  • Schengen members: Norway
  • Third countries: United States of America, United Kingdom, China (including Hong Kong and Macau)

For travellers coming from the increased risk category or red list countries, Cyprus authorities require a COVID-19 negative test result to be provided at entry borders or taken once the travellers enter the country. Other countries on the red list are:

  • European Union member states: Belgium, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Spain, Greece, Netherlands, Denmark, Slovenia, Germany, Estonia, Latvia, Sweden, Slovakia, Lithuania
  • Microstates: Andorra, San Marino, Monaco, Vatican City
  • Schengen members: Liechtenstein, Switzerland
  • Third countries: Canada, United Arab Emirates, Rwanda, Russia, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, Thailand, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrein, Kuwait

Countries not found in any of the lists above are listed in the grey category, which permits travellers to enter Cyprus only if they are citizens of Switzerland, Cypriot citizens and family members, European or EEA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway). Also, people entitled to enter Cyprus under Vienna Convention, those who legally live in the country and some third countries with special permission are allowed to travel to the island.

Passengers from this category must get a PCR test at a certified lab, provide a negative result document, and all other categories must cover the testing expenses by themselves, except people from EEA and other European citizens.

No comments:

Post a Comment