Monday, June 7, 2021

Travel: Germany Moves Majority of EU Countries to List of Low-Risk Areas

Germany has exempted more fellow European Union citizens from stringent entry restrictions upon a review of the German federal government agency and research institute in charge of the prevention and control of diseases Robert Koch Institute (RKI).

According to RKI, a subordinate to the Federal Ministry of Health, several countries in the EU block and Schengen Area have marked a decrease in the number of COVID-19 cases detected in the recent weeks, as a result of which arrivals from these countries should be subject to facilitated entry restrictions into the country.

With the new updates, the RKI recommends removing the following areas from the list of the increased SARS-CoV-2 infection risk to the low-risk areas:

  • Lithuania
  • Norway – the provinces of Troms og Finnmark and Trøndelag only
  • Sweden
  • Turkey

At the same time, the RKI has removed from the list of risk countries the complete territory of the Czech Republic, the Vatican City, and Italy and are now placed on the low-risk list. The same has happened with the following regions of EU countries:

  • France’s Corsica and the overseas departments of Mayotte, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna, French Polynesia and New Caledonia
  • Croatia’s counties of Dubrovnik-Neretva, Istria, Karlovac, Krapina-Zagorje, Požega-Slavonia and Split-Dalmatia
  • the overseas parts of the Netherlands Curaçao, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Austria – except for the federal states of Tyrol and Vorarlberg
  • Switzerland’s cantons of Aargau, Basel-Stadt, Basel-Land, Graubünden, Solothurn, Ticino, Zug and Zurich

Uruguay, on the other hand, has been added to the list of areas where a worrying virus variant has been detected.

Entry Restrictions for Arrivals from Virus Variant & High-Risk Areas

The RKI currently categorizes the EU countries and other world countries and regions in four different lists, 1. Virus variant areas, 2. High incidence areas, 3. Risk areas, and 4. Low-risk areas. Travellers are subject to entry restrictions according to the list in which they are placed.

Travellers from countries in the list of areas with a virus variant, part of which now Uruguay is, are banned from entering Germany.

Exempt from the ban are only German citizens and legal residents of Germany, as well as their spouses, partners living in the same household and underage children. Those taking a connecting flight who do not leave the transit zone of a passenger airport and few other special cases are also exempt from this measure.

Arrivals from these areas are obliged to present a negative COVID-19 test result when they show up at the German port of entry. Registration before the trip is required.

Arrivals from high incidence areas, on the other hand, are required to present one of the following in order to be permitted to enter Germany:

  • a negative COVID-19 test result
  • proof of a full COVID-19 vaccination
  • proof of recovery from an infection

They are also required to isolate for a period of ten days. Registration before the trip is also mandatory for arrivals from these areas.

No comments:

Post a Comment