Thursday, June 3, 2021

Switzerland Abolishes Quarantine Requirement for 5 Countries & Several Regions of Germany, France, & Italy

The Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) has updated the list of countries highly affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Following the update, the authorities announced that from today, May 3, five countries and several regions of Germany, France, and Italy will be removed from the high-risk list, reports.

This means that arrivals from the following countries and regions will no longer be subject to the quarantine requirement when entering Switzerland:

  • Croatia
  • Iran
  • Luxembourg
  • Turkey
  • Cyprus
  • Germany: Saxony and Thuringia
  • France: Occitanie and Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur regions
  • Italy: Apulia and Campania regions

Nonetheless, all arrivals from any country/region mentioned above are still required to provide a negative COVID-19 test result carried out within a period of 72 hours before entering Switzerland.

In case travellers do not possess a negative PCR test result, they must undergo testing in Switzerland, either a rapid antigen or a PCR test.

Children under the age of 12 are exempt from the testing requirement.

“Children under the age of 12 never have to show a negative corona test when entering the country. You are exempt from both the obligation to test during boarding and the obligation to test at the Swiss border,” the statement of the Federal Office of Public Health reads.

Countries & Regions Placed on COVID-19 High-Risk List

In this week’s update, it was once again emphasised that all persons entering Switzerland from a country placed on the high-risk list must stay self-isolated for ten days. This rule applies to everyone, including vaccinated travellers.

Just recently, the UK was added to the list of countries where the COVID-19 mutations have widely spread, meaning that all arrivals from the UK are required to quarantine for ten days.

Except for the UK, the list of countries with a worrying Coronavirus mutation also includes the following:

  • Brazil
  • India
  • Canada
  • Nepal
  • South Africa

All of the above-mentioned countries are subject to the same rules as those from the UK.

Further, it was highlighted that the ones who present a negative COVID-19 test result or a vaccination certificate will still have to self-isolate when entering Switzerland from a country placed on the high-risk list.

However, the self-isolation period can be shortened if travellers submit a negative PCR or rapid antigen test on the seventh day of quarantine. In contrast, if someone tests positive during the quarantine period, they should remain self-isolated for another ten days.

The Swiss authorities plan to abolish quarantine requirements for travellers who have recovered from the COVID-19 or have been vaccinated. However, no specific date has been given yet.

Based on the most recent figures from FOPH, the following regions of France are also placed on the COVID-19 severely affected list:

  • Center-Val de Loire region
  • Hauts-de-France region
  • Île-de-France region
  • Normandy region
  • Pays de la Loire region

Other countries currently placed on the high-risk list are Egypt, Andorra, Argentina, Bahrain, Belgium, Cabo Verde, Chile, Costa Rica, Estonia, Georgia, Colombia, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Mexico, Mongolia, the Netherlands, Paraguay, Sweden, Seychelles, Slovenia, Tanzania, and Uruguay.

Previously, Switzerland announced that the country is in the process of implementing the COVID-19 passport system.

No comments:

Post a Comment