Friday, June 11, 2021

Sweden Lifts Restrictions for Arrivals From Japan – Extends Entry Ban for Other Third-Country Travellers

In line with the latest recommendation from the European Union Council to the EU Member States, the Swedish Government has decided to lift the entry ban for travellers entering the country from Japan.

This means that residents of Japan will now be exempt from the Swedish entry ban. Nonetheless, they still must present a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival, reports.

The decision was announced by the Ministry of Justice, which through a press release, indicated that the changes regarding the lifting of the entry ban for residents of Japan will enter into force on June 14.

Except for Japan, travellers from the following third countries are also exempt from the travel ban:

  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Israel

In addition, the entry ban does not apply to persons from EU/EEA countries as well as Switzerland. The ban also does not apply to permanent residents of Sweden or those who hold a residence permit.

Denmark, Finland, Iceland, and Norway have just recently been removed from Sweden’s entry ban list. This means that arrivals from these countries can enter the country for non-essential purposes and are no longer required to present a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival in Sweden.

Yet, all persons who enter Sweden from abroad need to get tested and stay self-isolated for seven days after their arrival. However, those fully vaccinated against the COVID-19 and those travelling from EU/EEA and other countries exempt from the entry ban are not required to be quarantined.

The negative test result requirement does not apply to children under the age of 18.

Currently, Sweden has a travel ban against all non-essential travel from most countries outside the EU. According to the Swedish authorities, the ban will remain in place until August 31, 2021.

“The temporary entry ban came into force on March 19 and initially applied for 30 days. It has subsequently been extended following recommendations by the European Commission and the Council of the European Union. The latest decision to extend the ban on entry into Sweden from countries outside the EU/EEA means that the entry ban now applies until August 31 2021,” the government’s statement reads.

The prolongation of the entry ban for arrivals from third countries has been carried out in compliance with the EU recommendation due to continued uncertainty concerning the COVID-19 pandemic and its mutations.

Furthermore, the decision to keep in place such measures has been supported by the Public Health Agency of Sweden, which noted that entry restrictions should remain in place for third-country travellers, as the Coronavirus vaccination rollout has been slow.

Previously, the Swedish government decided to extend its internal border controls until November 2021 in order to strengthen national security and protect the country from any terrorist attack.

No comments:

Post a Comment