Monday, June 21, 2021

Norway Ends Quarantine for Poland, Romania & Several Finnish Hospital Districts

Following the National Institute of Public Health’s recommendation, starting June 21, Poland, Romania, and some hospital districts of Finland have been moved to the yellow list of countries, the Norwegian authorities have announced.

Introducing the new rules, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs noted that the Finnish hospital districts such as Central Ostrobothnia, Southern Savonia, Central Häme, Kymmenedalen, Pirkanmaa and Southwest Finland have also been moved to the yellow list.

According to the National Institute of Public Health’s regulation, arrivals from yellow countries must register before reaching the country and get tested at the border, but there is no quarantine obligation, reports.

The Travel Advice, through which the Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises against non-essential travelling, will be valid for all countries until July 5. Starting from July 5, the Travel Advice will not be effective for the EEA/ Schengen and the United Kingdom. For countries outside EEA/Schengen, the Travel Advice will be extended until August 10.

Also, starting on July 5, countries with less than 50 cases of COVID-19 infections per 100,000 people in the last two weeks, and where less than four per cent of all tests are positive, the country is categorized as green.

Similar rules apply for travellers coming from a country with less than 75 cases per 100,000 people in the recent 14 days, and where less than one per cent of all have tested positive.

People travelling from a green country are already free of entry quarantine when they come to Norway. Moreover, people who live in a green country and have stayed there for the last ten days before travelling to Norway can also enter the latter restriction-free, regardless of their citizenship.

Previously, the Norwegian government announced that people who have gained immunity against COVID-19 and children under 12 years old could undergo quarantine for shorter periods of time, whereas the quarantine hotel requirement was completely abolished for some travellers, depending on the Coronavirus infection rates they came from.

Following this, on June 11, the Norwegian authorities also announced that fully vaccinated travellers, as well as travellers who recovered from Coronavirus in the last six months, no longer have to self-isolate upon arrival. However, everyone is still obliged to test at the border before entering Norway.

The country is ready to technically connect to the EU Digital COVID Certificate (EUDCC) gateway, which deadline set by the EU will expire at the beginning of July. So far, the majority of countries in the EU have connected to the EUDCC; other countries such as France, Amsterdam, Ireland, Sweden, Romania, Slovenia, and Norway, are ready to start issuing the document, whereas Finland and Hungary are still in the testing phase.

No comments:

Post a Comment