Monday, June 21, 2021

Netherlands to Remove Entry Ban for Tourists From US & 5 Other Third Countries From June 24

All travellers from the United States, Albania, Lebanon, North Macedonia, Serbia, and Taiwan can travel to the Netherlands completely restriction-free, including tourists, starting from June 24.

The decision has been announced by the Dutch Government, upon a recommendation of the Council of the EU to add these countries to the EU’s list of epidemiologically safe third-countries, the residents of which should be permitted to enter the EU countries for non-essential purposes

If you live in a safe country, you may travel to the Netherlands. The EU travel ban does not apply to you. It does not matter what your nationality or the purpose of your trip is. Countries that are not on the list of safe countries are considered high-risk areas,” the Dutch government explains.

Thus, starting from Thursday, June 24, the residents of the following third countries can travel to the Netherlands for all kinds of purposes:

  • Albania (from June 24 onwards)
  • Australia
  • China (mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau) – only if China lifts entry restrictions on European travellers.
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lebanon (from June 24 onwards)
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia (from June 24 onwards)
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia (from June 24 onwards)
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan (from June 24 onwards)
  • Thailand
  • United States (from June 24 onwards)

Travellers from these countries can enter completely restriction-free, as they are not requested to present any type of COVID-19 test, vaccination certificates, or undergo quarantine.

If you are coming from a country where the risk of contracting COVID-19 is low (a safe country), you do not need to show a negative test result when you travel to the Netherlands. You are also not required to self-quarantine when you arrive in the Netherlands,” the government confirms.

However, those reaching a country by air will have to fill in a health declaration, which some of the airlines permit to be digitally completed when the traveller checks in.

Third countries outside of the list above are categorized either in the high-risk or very high-risk list. Currently in the very high-risk list are the following:

  • Argentina
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh (from June 15 onwards)
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Cabo Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Myanmar (from June 15 onwards)
  • Nepal (from June 15 onwards)
  • Pakistan (from June 15 onwards)
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • United Kingdom (from June 15 onwards)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Arrivals from these countries can enter the Netherlands only if they are Dutch nationals or are travelling to the country for an absolutely essential purpose.

They will have to self-quarantine, even if they have been vaccinated against the virus. The requirement of negative COVID-19 test result applies to arrivals from these countries aged 13 and over. The health declaration is a must for those reaching the Netherlands by air.

The rest of the world countries fall under the high-risk list. Only those travelling to the Netherlands for essential purposes can enter the country. A negative COVID-19 test result is mandatory for all those aged 13 and older. A ten-day quarantine period is also obligatory, though it can be ended on the fifth day with a second COVID-19 test. A health declaration is also required for these travellers.

No comments:

Post a Comment