Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Hungary to Introduce EU COVID Passport on June 30

As several countries have already started to issue travel passports, Hungary is still lagging behind. The Hungarian authorities announced that the COVID EU Vaccine Passport would be ready by June 15, but due to the delays that were made, the country revealed that the document will not be introduced before June 30.

To meet all the requirements set by the European Union regarding the Digital COVID Passport implementation just in time, the application established by the Hungarian authorities will indicate the type of vaccine that has been administered and the dates when the doses were administered.

SchengenVisaInfo.com previously reported that Hungary is lagging behind in the implementation of the passport as the country is still in the testing phase to get technically ready to connect to the EU’s gateway.

It is anticipated that the introduction of the passport on June 30 will not be a problem for the Hungarian authorities as the vaccine passports of the European Union will be effective from July 1.

Nonetheless, the National eHealth Infrastructure vaccination application has already gotten much negative feedback regarding its convenience. Thus, its late release leaves little to no time for the app to be tested and improved if needed.

In addition, the EU authorities have confirmed that persons vaccinated with Sinopharm or Sputnik V vaccines may not enjoy the same privileges as those who have been vaccinated with one of the vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA).

The Commission has permitted the EU Member States to issue certificates for persons who have been vaccinated with vaccines other than those approved by EMA. However, it is up to the individual Member States to decide whether they will allow those vaccinated with a non-approved vaccine by EMA to enter their territory.

According to the EU Commission, the following countries are successfully connected to the EU DCC gateway and are issuing or verifying at least one of the certificates: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Spain, and Iceland.

Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Croatia, and Poland are the first to start issuing certificates within the block, while the other countries joined recently. Hungary is next to begin implementing such a scheme and issuing EU Digital COVID Passports.

The EU Digital COVID Passport was established by the European Union to allow safe travel within the block.

The digital passport is a one-page document that can be issued by travellers in paper or digital format. Based on the travellers’ status, three distinct passports have been launched, including a vaccination passport, a test certificate, and a recovery certificate.

The vaccines approved by EMA include Comirnaty (BioNTech, Pfizer), Moderna, Vaxzevria (previously AstraZeneca, Oxford), and Janssen (Johnson & Johnson).

Previously, the Hungarian Foreign Minister, Peter Szijjarto, announced that the country will abolish border crossing restrictions on the internal Schengen borders from June 24.

No comments:

Post a Comment