Saturday, June 26, 2021

Estonia Removes Quarantine Requirement for UK Travellers from June 28

The Estonian authorities have published the movement restriction guidelines, which will enter in force from June 28, Monday, reports.

According to a press release issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, travellers should be aware that countries, regardless of being a country of transit or destination, may introduce restrictions at short notice in order to maintain the further spread of the new strains of Coronavirus.

The Estonian authorities require travellers to fill the border crossing form three days before their arrival. By doing so, the waiting queue can be prevented and operate in a smoother administrative process.

Vaccinated travellers against COVID-19 are exempted from this requirement; however, they must present vaccination certificates at border checks.

For countries that have reported an infection rate of more than 150 positive cases per 100,000 inhabitants, a ten-day quarantine is required for travellers coming from the European Union, the European Economic Area and Schengen Zone.

From June 28 to July 4, this rule applies to arrivals from the United Kingdom.

On the other hand, the restrictions on freedom of movement don’t apply to countries like Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Spain, Netherlands, Croatia, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Greece, Cyprus, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, France, Sweden, Romania, Germany, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Switzerland, Denmark, Czech Republic and Hungary.

For people travelling from all third countries, from June 21, all vaccinated people do not have to undergo quarantine upon arrival in Estonia.

Following the EU’s recommendation, Estonia permits entry for third country travellers from Albania, Australia, USA, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, South Korea, Macau, Northern Macedonia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, Thailand, Taiwan and New Zealand.

Travelling from these countries can happen for all reasons, regardless of the vaccination status of the traveller. A ten-day quarantine is required for countries that have more than 75 positive cases per 100,000 inhabitants. From June 28 to July 4, the self-isolation obligation does not apply to any countries mentioned above.

For the remaining countries, a ten-day quarantine requirement applies to those entering Estonia. The quarantine stay can be reduced for people who take two COVID-19 tests. People who have legal reasons to enter the country and who frequently do so, can have their quarantine requirements waived or reduced.

However, for people who want to reduce their ten-day quarantine period requirement, they must present a COVID-19 test taken 72 hours before their arrival to Estonia. While in the country, a second test no earlier than day six after the first test was taken should be performed. If both tests results are negative, the person can be released from its ten-day quarantine ahead of time.

Also, people who haven’t tested 72 hours before arriving in Estonia must take the first test when arriving in the country, the second test not earlier than six days after the first test.

Recently, Estonia imposed quarantine requirements for travellers from Latvia and Denmark due to the high risk of Coronavirus infections detected in the country in the last few months.

No comments:

Post a Comment