Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Cyprus Lifts Testing & Quarantine Requirement for Germany & Italy While Spain Remains on Red Category

The Cypriot authorities have published the updated list of epidemiologically affected countries, which became effective yesterday, June 21.

According to the traffic light system based list, the authorities have positioned Austria, Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Germany, Italy, Finland and Slovakia in the green list after these countries reported low infection rates of COVID-19 in the recent weeks, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

“It is noted that passengers coming from the Green Category countries are not required to hold a COVID-19 test certificate or self-isolate,” the authorities highlighted.

Except for the countries above and those from the previous assessment, the green list also includes the following countries:

  • European Union Member States:Malta, Poland, Romania, Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Germany, Italy, Finland and Slovakia
  • Schengen Area countries: Iceland and Norway
  • Third countries:Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and Israel

On the other hand, all travellers arriving from the orange list countries to Cyprus are obliged to provide a negative Coronavirus test result when entering the country, which should not be older than 72 hours at the time of departure.

According to the updated list, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, France, Greece, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia and Sweden are now considered moderately epidemiologically dangerous, and travellers from these countries are now allowed to enter Cyprus by only providing a negative test.

The orange list includes the countries as the following list indicates:

  • European Union Member States:Portugal, Ireland, Luxembourg, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, France, Greece, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia, Sweden
  • Third countries: China (including Hong Kong and Macau), the United Kingdom, the United States of America and Japan

As for the red list of countries, the only EU remaining countries are Spain and Netherlands, while third countries added to this list are as the following list presents:

  • European Union Member States: Spain and Netherlands
  • Microstates:Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, and San Marino
  • Schengen Area countries:Switzerland and Liechtenstein
  • Third countries: Rwanda, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, Thailand, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrein, Kuwait, Canada, Taiwan, Albania and North Macedonia

Travellers arriving from these countries are subjected to a double testing requirement, meaning they must provide a negative test result taken 72 hours before departure to Cyprus and take another one upon their arrival. Until test results are back, the traveller must remain in self-isolation.

Countries that were not mentioned in any of the categories above are placed in the grey category. Travel from one of the countries in the grey category is only permitted for Cypriot citizens and their family members, EU/EEA citizens, and those holding Swiss citizenship.

No comments:

Post a Comment