Thursday, June 10, 2021

Austria Now Allows Quarantine-Free Entry for Tourists From 39 Countries

The Austrian authorities have announced that travellers from tens of countries with a low COVID-19 infection rate will now be able to enter the country for tourism purposes without being subject to quarantine requirements.

Consequently, travellers from the following European Union and European Economic Area countries will be allowed to enter Austria without having to stay self-isolated:

Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and Vatican City.

Additionally, in line with the EU’s Recommendation, the same relaxed rules also apply to the following third countries: Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Singapore, and South Korea.

Even though the quarantine requirement for arrivals from countries mentioned above has been abolished, certain restrictions still remain in place, reports.

All persons entering Austria must register digitally in order to obtain a “pre-travel clearance”.

Except for the pre-travel clearance, all persons entering Austria need to present one of the following documents:

  • A negative COVID-19 test result: all persons need to provide a PCR test not older than 72 hours or an antigen test not older than 48 hours. For the tests to be recognised they need to be issued by medical authorities. Self-tests are not valid. Children under the age of ten are exempt from the testing requirement.
  • A vaccination certificate: a person is considered vaccinated 22 days after this first dose is administered, which lasts three months from the vaccination date. After the second dose of the vaccine is administered, the validity of the certificate extends for another six months. Thus, the document is valid for nine months from the vaccination date.
  • Proof of a previous infection: travellers are also allowed to enter Austria if they have already recovered from the COVID-19. Everyone is permitted to enter the country for six months after infection.

Travellers From Virus Variant Areas & Other Countries

On the other hand, travellers from countries where the COVID-19 has widely spread, also known as virus variant countries, are banned from entering the country. Austria’s list of virus variant countries currently includes Brazil, India, South Africa, and the UK.

“A landing ban for flights from Brazil, India, South Africa, and the United Kingdom is in effect,” Austria’s Official Travel Portal statement reads.

Travellers from these countries are allowed to enter Austria only for essential purposes. In case they are granted entry, they must present a negative PCR test result not older than 72 hours and stay quarantined for ten days. However, the quarantine period can be shortened if a negative test result is obtained after the fifth day of quarantine.

As for the travellers from other countries that were not mentioned in any of the lists above, they can travel to Austria for certain purposes only.

Those who provide proof of vaccination or past infection are exempt from the quarantine requirement. In contrast, those who only provide a negative test result need to stay self-isolated for ten days. Similar to the countries above, the quarantine period can be shortened.

Previously, the Austrian authorities announced that the gastronomy sector can now open after more than six months of being closed.

No comments:

Post a Comment