Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Arrivals From Germany, Croatia, Slovakia, Spain & Luxembourg Can Now Enter Cyprus Quarantine-Free

The Cyprus authorities have moved Germany, Spain, Luxemburg, Slovakia, and Croatia from the COVID-19 higher risk of infections list to the orange list, which represents epidemiologically less dangerous countries, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

The traffic light list, which has been updated on June 7, is based on the ECDC – the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control data and includes countries of the European Economic Area, the European Union, and several third countries.

The Cyprus government doesn’t impose any requirement for quarantine or COVID-19 test certificates for travellers arriving from the green list countries.

The new categorisation will become effective on June 10, as of which date the green listed countries representing low infection rates will be:

  • Schengen Area countries: Iceland
  • Third countries: Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Israel and, South Korea

However, for travellers coming from the orange category countries, the Cyprus authorities have decided that they must show a PCR laboratory test administered within 72 hours before departure to the country. They are also required to provide a document that proves a negative COVID-19 result.

On the updated list of June 7, countries on the orange list, representing moderately dangerous countries are:

  • European Union member states: Portugal, Ireland, Poland, Finland, Romania, Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Germany, Croatia, Slovakia, Spain, Luxemburg
  • Schengen Area countries: Norway
  • Third countries: United States of America, China (as well as Hong Kong and Macau), The United Kingdom

For the red countries category or increased risk of COVID-19 infections, travellers must present a COVID-19 negative test result before arriving on the island and administer another one upon arrival. The updated list includes Japan, which has been moved to the high risk of COVID-19 infections list. This list also contains information for travellers coming from these countries:

  • European Union member states: Netherlands, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Slovakia Greece, Hungary, Poland, Estonia, Denmark, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, and Germany,
  • Micro countries: San Marino, Andorra, Monaco, and Vatican City
  • Schengen members: Liechtenstein and Switzerland,
  • Third countries: Rwanda, Russia, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrein, Canada, and Japan

Countries that are not found in any of the lists above are placed in the grey category. The latter indicates that the traveller is allowed to enter Cyprus if he/she has Cypriot citizenship, is a family member of one, holds Swiss citizenship, or is an EU or EEA citizen. People who legally live in the country, those entitled to enter Cyprus under Vienna Convention rules, and third-country travellers who possess special permission can enter the island.

Passengers from this category must conduct a PCR test at a certified laboratory and present a negative result document upon arrival. Except for EEA and other European citizens, remaining travellers must cover the testing expenses by themselves.

No comments:

Post a Comment