Friday, May 7, 2021

Switzerland Removes 12 Countries & Several Regions of Italy & Austria From Its List of High-Risk Countries

The Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) has updated the list of high-risk countries and areas in European countries and further in the world, arrivals from which countries need to undergo strict restrictions upon arrival in Switzerland.

As a result, since May 6, the Office has removed from the list 12 countries and several regions of Italy and Austria, which means arrivals from these countries are no longer subject to the requirement of quarantine after entering Switzerland. These countries and territories are:

  • Armenia
  • Austria: Province of Burgenland, Province of Carinthia, Province of Lower Austria and Province of Vienna
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Greece
  • Italy: Region Emilia Romagna, Region Friuli / Venezia Giulia and Region Tuscany
  • Jordan
  • Kosovo
  • Lebanon
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • San Marino
  • Ukraine

The decision means that arrivals from these countries, who belong to one of the categories permitted to enter Switzerland amid COVID-19, are obliged to quarantine, but also to present the negative results of a PCR test taken within the last 72 hours before reaching the country.

Those who do not hold a COVID-19 negative test result need to be tested in Switzerland as soon as possible, either with a rapid PCR or antigen test.

All these persons need to stay in self-isolation for ten days, including vaccinated travellers.

List Valid for Entry From May 6, 2021

As a result of the most recent update, the following territories of Switzerland’s neighbouring countries are placed in the list of high-risk countries and areas:

  • Germany: the State of Saxony, and the State of Thuringia
  • France: Brittany region, Center-Val de Loire region, Hauts-de-France region, Île-de-France region, Normandy region, Nouvelle-Aquitaine region, Occitanie region, Pays de la Loire region, and the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region
  • Italy: Apulia region and Campania region
  • Austria: Province of Upper Austria and the State of Salzburg

Other countries which are currently on the high-risk list are Andorra, Argentina, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Estonia, Hungary, India, Kuwait, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Palestinian Territory, Paraguay, Poland, Qatar, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovenia, South Africa, Sweden, Tanzania, Turkey, and Uruguay.

List Valid for Entry From May 17, 2021

The Federal Office of Public Health has also revealed the list of countries that will be added to the high-risk list, which are as follows:

  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Georgia
  • Iran
  • Italy: Basilicata region
  • Latvia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia

The FOPH establishes the list based on several criteria as if the number of new infections per 100,000 residents in the country or region concerned in the previous 14 days is 60 or higher than in Switzerland, and this number is not due to individual events or local cases.

At the same time, the spread of virus variants in the country or region in question is also taken into account, as well as the number of infected people from that country or zone, who have entered Switzerland in the last four weeks before the update of the list

No comments:

Post a Comment