Friday, May 7, 2021

Sweden Extends Internal Border Controls Until November 11

Sweden’s government has decided to extend its internal border controls until November 11, 2021, in a bid to enhance national security and protect its citizens from any terrorist attack.

The decision has been taken in compliance with the common EU legislation, based on the government’s assessment that there is still a severe threat to public policy and internal security in Sweden, reports.

In this regard, Sweden’s Minister for Home Affairs Mikael Damberg stressed that the country’s Security Service has agreed not to change the assessment that the terrorist threat level remains elevated, adding that “we assess that Sweden should also retain internal border controls.”

“Border control at internal borders can help detect potential perpetrators who intend to damage Sweden and prevent them from committing serious offences. Shortcomings also persist in controlling the external borders in the Schengen Area,” Damberg pointed out.

Authorities in Sweden introduced internal border controls on November 12, 2020, which were set to last until May 11, 2021. However, such preventive measures have been further extended for six months.

“The control and checks will be adapted to what is necessary to safeguard public order and internal security,” the latest statement published by Sweden’s government has clarified.

Besides preventing terrorist attacks, the frontier checks would also help to stop the further spread of the Coronavirus disease.

Sweden is the 28th most hard-hit country worldwide from the Coronavirus outbreak. Since the beginning of the pandemic, 1,002,121 cases have been registered in Sweden, while more than 14,150 persons have died.

According to the statistics published by Worldometers, over 827,637 persons have fully recovered from the disease, while there are more than 160,326 active cases.

Sweden is not the only country that has decided to introduce such measures, as several other EU countries have also reintroduced internal border controls.

Previously Germany’s Minister of Interior Horst Seehofer announced that the country would introduce its frontier checks at internal borders with Switzerland, France, Denmark, Italy, Spain, and Austria, valid until May 15.

Belgium’s authorities decided to reintroduce all internal border controls that will last until May 8.

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland,  France, Hungary, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Italy have also taken precisely the same steps by reintroducing internal border controls to protect their citizens’ lives.

The increasing number of COVID-19 infection cases in countries worldwide forced European countries’ authorities to tighten their preventive measures to end the disease’s further spread.

The borderless area of Schengen has never introduced more internal border controls since its implementation.

No comments:

Post a Comment