Tuesday, May 11, 2021

Spain Plans to Permit Entry for British Holidaymakers From Next Week

Britons could visit Spain as soon as next week, Spain’s Tourism Minister Maria Reyes Maroto has announced.

Even though United Kingdom’s citizens are banned from entering Spain’s territory for non-essential purposes until May 31, the Minister believes that Britons would be allowed to enter the country earlier than that date.

“Spain is exercising a very active role within the European Union and campaigning to update the restrictions on non-essential trips from outside the EU. The changes that are being discussed at the moment will mean tourists will be able to travel to Spain from the UK from May 20,” she pointed out.

Reyes Maroto applauded the UK’s government decision to restart holidays from May 17, stressing that the COVID-19 situation in her country has recently improved.

Her comments came after Spain was left out of the UK’s green list that includes countries with low COVID-19 infection rates, meaning that all travellers planning to return to Britain after visiting Spain will have to undergo quarantine.

However, the Minister believes that Spain will get green light status soon, and UK citizens would be spared from the ten-day mandatory quarantine requirement when returning to Britain, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

She stressed that the advance of the vaccination program and the accumulated incidence of COVID-19 going down increase hopes that Spain will soon be part of the UK’s green list.

“We are convinced British tourists will be able to holiday in our country this summer if that is their wish,” the Minister highlighted.

However, other reports have warned that Spain, France, and Greece will not be included on UK’s green list until July or August.

Last week, authorities in Britain announced that they agreed to permit the resumption of international travel from May 17.

The green list of Britain includes only 12 of the following countries, citizens of which are permitted to enter the UK without being subject to testing and quarantine requirements upon their arrival:

  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira)
  • Singapore
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha

All major destinations, including Spain, France, Italy, and the United States, were left off the list, sparking controversies among holiday companies and airlines.

Persons planning to return to the UK after visiting any of the four countries mentioned above will be required to remain self-isolated for ten days.

Spain has recorded over 3,581,300 COVID-19 infection cases since the beginning of the pandemic and 78,895 deaths, becoming the ninth most affected country from the disease.

Those figures led authorities in Spain to extend restrictions on unnecessary travel from countries outside the European Union and Schengen Area until May 31.

No comments:

Post a Comment