Tuesday, May 11, 2021

Slovakians Can Now Enter Cyprus With Only COVID-19 Negative Test Results

Authorities in Cyprus have moved Slovakia from the group of countries profoundly affected by the Coronavirus outbreak to the medium-risk countries’ list after ensuring that the latter recently reported fewer infection cases.

This means that Slovakia’s citizens no longer need to quarantine upon their arrival in Cyprus. They will only have to prove that they are not affected by the virus by presenting a negative result of the Coronavirus test, performed within the last 72 hours before reaching Cyprus, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

Cyprus’ government has categorized countries into green, orange, and red groups, based on the level of risk, according to the data provided by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC); therefore, all persons should follow the requirements applied in their countries of origin.

Green Category- Countries ExemptedFrom Testing & Quarantine Requirements

The green category includes countries with low infection rates of Coronavirus. Citizens coming from these countries are exempted from the testing and quarantine rules.

The green category includes Australia, Singapore, New Zealand, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, and Israel.

Orange Category – Countries Subject to Testing Process

All medium-risk countries are included in the orange category. Persons coming from this group will be required to present a negative result of the Coronavirus test, not older than 72 hours, when entering the Czech Republic’s territory.

This category includes:

  • European Union Member States: Ireland, Portugal, Finland, Slovakia, Malta
  • Schengen Zone countries: Norway, Iceland
  • Third countries: United Kingdom, Thailand, and China (including Hong Kong and Macau)

Red Category- Countries Profoundly Affected by the Virus

Countries that have recently reported a high number of COVID-19 infections are placed on the red list.

Travelers coming from this group will be required to present a negative result of the Coronavirus test upon their arrival. In addition, they will have to take a second COVID-19 test after they enter Cyprus.

The red group includes the following countries:

  • European Union member states: Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Italy, Greece, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Denmark, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Latvia, Estonia, Sweden, Lithuania, Germany
  • Small states: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino
  • Schengen Zone countries: Liechtenstein, Switzerland
  • Third countries: Rwanda, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Georgia, Egypt, Qatar, Belarus, Serbia, United States of America, Bahrein, Armenia.

However, all citizens holding a valid certificate of vaccination against the Coronavirus, issued by one of the following countries, will be permitted to enter Cyprus without being obliged to follow testing and quarantine requirements;

  • EU Member States (including Cyprus)
  • EEA Member States (Island, Lichtenstein, Norway)
  • Switzerland
  • Israel
  • United Kingdom
  • Russia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Ukraine
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Egypt
  • Belarus
  • Serbia
  • Qatar
  • Bahrein
  • United States of America
  • Armenia
  • Georgia
  • Canada
  • Kuwait

Cyprus has reported over 69,000 cases of COVID-19 infection and 337 deaths since the beginning of the outbreak.

Still, it became the first EU Member State announcing that it will open its doors for all vaccinated travellers as has announced that from May 10, the country would welcome tourists from 65 countries worldwide, quarantine-free and without being subject to the testing process.

No comments:

Post a Comment