Saturday, May 29, 2021

Slovakia Imposes 14-Day Quarantine Requirement for Arrivals From Red-List Countries

The authorities of Slovakia have announced that starting from Monday, May 31, new rules will apply to arrivals from COVID-19 highly affected countries in order to minimise the spread of COVID-19 and its mutations.

Based on the new rules, the Ministry of Interior revealed that the countries will be divided into three main categories, more precisely into green, red, and black, reports.

Arrivals From Red-List Countries

As it was previously reported, 25 countries will be part of Slovakia’s red list.

The red list includes countries that are highly affected by the COVID-19, and from Monday, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Egypt, Georgia, Jordan, Canada, Kazakhstan, Cuba, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mongolia, Russia, Northern Macedonia, Serbia, the United States of America, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan will be part of it.

All persons entering Slovakia after staying in one of the above-mentioned countries during the last 14 days will be required to stay self-isolated for two weeks. However, the quarantine period can be shortened if a negative COVID-19 test result is obtained on the eighth day.

The Ministry clarified that vaccinated persons are also subject to the quarantine requirement when returning from a high-risk country. Nonetheless, it was noted that vaccinated persons living in Slovakia and working in one of the countries placed on the red list or vice versa are exempt from the rule.

Arrivals From Green-List Countries

The green list includes countries that have registered a low rate of COVID-19 infections during the last 14 days.

According to the Ministry of Interior, the following countries will be part of the green list from May 31:

  • Australia
  • China
  • Greenland
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • South Korea
  • Monaco
  • Norway
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore

All persons coming from countries included in this list will also be required to follow the self-isolation rules. However, they can end their self-isolation as early as on the first day, provided that they obtain a negative test result.

Arrivals From Black-List Countries

The black category includes all those countries that have been profoundly affected by the disease during the recent weeks and in which the situation is worse than in those on the red list.

Consequently, arrivals from countries in the black category are subject to the quarantine requirement too. In contrast to arrivals from the other two lists, those from the black one will not be allowed to shorten their self-isolation period even if a negative Coronavirus test result is presented.

On the other hand, the authorities of Slovakia have eased the restrictions for commuters, students, healthcare workers, crew and crew members, as well as for those carrying essential social functions. They are only required to present a negative COVID-19 test result.

Previously, Slovakia exempted persons with a temporary or permanent residency permit in a neighbouring country within 100 kilometres from the testing and quarantine requirements.

No comments:

Post a Comment