Sunday, May 9, 2021

France Tightens Entry Restrictions for Arrivals From More Third-Countries

The French authorities have expanded the list of countries for arrivals from which stringent entry restrictions apply, amid an increase of Coronavirus cases and its variants in these third countries.

The decision has been announced by the French government on May 7, which noted that since April 24, and up until last Saturday, the measures have applied to India, Brazil, Argentina, Chile and South Africa, reports.

However, since May 8, Saturday, the following countries are also on this list:

  • Bangladesh
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Qatar
  • Sri Lanka
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates

While the epidemic situation stabilizes on the national territory, the propagation of the virus in certain countries, and in particular of several variants of interest raising fears of a risk of increased transmissibility or vaccine escape, requires a reinforcement of the control measures for arrivals from these countries,” the French government notes announcing the decision.

The same further explains that eligible to enter from these areas remain limited categories of people, as French nationals, their spouses, children, as well as other fellow European Union nationals and third-country citizens holding a valid French residence permit.

Arrivals from the countries placed in this list will be subject to the test system before boarding, which means they must present the negative results of a negative COVID-19 test taken within the last 36 hours, instead of 72 as it is for arrivals from other countries.

Those that present only a negative PCR test taken between 36 hours and 72 hours before they reach France must accompany it with a negative antigen test performed within 24 hours of arrival in France.

The performance of an antigen test will be made systematic on arrival in France, before leaving the airport,” the government explains.

Travellers reaching France from one of the countries placed in the high-risk list are subject to the obligation of quarantine for a period of ten days. The place of quarantine will be determined by prefectural decree and accompanied by restrictions on exit times from the place of isolation.

Either the police or the national gendarmerie will be responsible for carrying out quarantine compliance checks at the place of isolation. Those that violate the rules of quarantine will be fined.

France remains the fourth most affected country worldwide from the Coronavirus pandemic, with 5,767,959 cases registered so far, 106,277 of which have resulted in death, and 828,701 are active.

The country currently has in place more relaxed restrictions for several non-EU countries, including the UK, Australia, and New Zealand. In contrast, the citizens of the other third-world countries can enter France only for absolutely essential purposes.

No comments:

Post a Comment