Wednesday, May 5, 2021

Estonia Lifts Quarantine Obligation for Latvian Cross-Border Workers

All persons who cross the border between Estonia and Latvia at least twice a week for essential purposes will be permitted to enter Estonia without being subject to the ten-day restriction on freedom of movement if they prove that they have tested negative for the Coronavirus or have fully recovered from the disease.

However, all citizens permitted to cross the border will be required to fill in a form upon their arrival in the country, reports.

Estonia has registered over 123,700 COVID-19 infection cases and 1,183 deaths, according to Worldometers’ figures.

Such figures have led Estonia’s government to tighten its preventive measures in order to avoid another upsurge in the number of COVID-19 infections.

According to the announcement of Estonia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, a ten-day restriction on freedom of movement applies to all persons coming from the European Union, the European Economic Area and the Schengen Zone countries in which the infection rate surpasses 150 people per 100,000 inhabitants in the past 14 days.

The same Ministry has revealed that until May 9, citizens of the following countries will be subject to restrictions on freedom of movement upon their arrival in Estonia;

  • Schengen Zone countries: Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy, Greece, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, France, Poland, Germany, Spain, Slovenia, Slovakia, Denmark, Switzerland, the Czech Republic and Hungary.
  • Other European countries: Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, Cyprus.

At present, the Vatican’s indicator is zero; however, if persons travel from the Vatican to Estonia via Italy, they will be obliged to follow quarantine rules upon their arrival.

Countries that have recently reported an infection rate of fewer than 150 people per 100,000 inhabitants during the past two weeks, such as Iceland, Ireland, Norway, Malta, Portugal, Finland and the United Kingdom, will not be subject to the restrictions mentioned above.

Authorities in Estonia have clarified that it is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand and New Zealand; however, a ten-day restriction on freedom of movement will be applied for South Korea and Thailand arrivals due to the COVID-19 situation in both territories.

Citizens coming from countries not mentioned above will be subject to the ten-day restriction on the freedom of movement, which can be shortened if they take two COVID-19 tests and the results of both are negative.

“Persons who do not want a 10-day restriction of freedom of movement after arriving in Estonia may perform a coronavirus PCR test abroad, up to 72 hours before arrival in Estonia,” the country’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs has clarified through its statement.

The Ministry clarified that it is then possible to take a second test in Estonia, six days after the first COVID-19 test was performed.

“A person is released from the ten-day isolation obligation ahead of time if the results of both tests are negative,” the statement reads.

Citizens who do not have taken the COVID-19 test up to 72 hours before arrival in Estonia may take the first upon arrival in the country and the second test on the sixth day of their arrival.

Authorities in Estonia have extended the restriction on freedom of movement several times for all persons coming from countries that are considered profoundly affected by the virus to halt the further spread of the disease.

No comments:

Post a Comment