Monday, May 10, 2021

Estonia Keeps in Place COVID-19 Entry Restrictions, Allows Restriction-Free Entry to Arrivals From Romania, San Marino & Slovakia

Estonia has updated entry restrictions for all persons arriving in the country during the period May 10 – May 16.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia has informed that all persons wishing to enter the country from a European Union country placed on the red list will be required to undergo testing and a ten-day quarantine.

The authorities have required all those entering the country to fill in the border crossing form prior to arrival in Estonia so the people do not have to wait in line and the border crossing process goes more smoothly.

Furthermore, the Ministry strongly recommends that those who have recovered from COVID-19 or have been vaccinated restrict themselves from moving for a few days after their arrival.

Moreover, the authorities suggest that everyone stays self-isolated for ten days, reports.

“Due to the rapid introduction of measures, both travel opportunities and return opportunities to Estonia may change unexpectedly. Seriously evaluate the necessity of your trip and research travel information about your destination and transit country, as well as make clear the conditions for entering and leaving the country, in addition to other important information about the destination country,” the statement of the Ministry reads.

The same has revealed that similar to the previous announcement, the restriction of free movement applies to arrivals from Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Spain, Netherlands, Croatia, Italy, Greece, Cyprus, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Latvia, Monaco, Poland, France, Sweden, Germany, Slovenia, Switzerland, Denmark, Czech Republic, and Hungary.

The Ministry has pointed out that all persons entering from one of the abovementioned European Union, European Economic Area, or Schengen Area countries with a higher infection rate than 150 cases per 100,000 inhabitants registered during the last two weeks must self-isolate for ten days upon the arrival.

However, the restriction of free movement does not apply to those arriving from countries with a lower infection rate than 150 cases 100,000 inhabitants during the last 14 days. This group includes Ireland, Iceland, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Finland and the United Kingdom.

As per arrivals from third countries, based on the European Council’s Recommendation, travel restrictions are lifted for Australia, Israel, South Korea, Rwanda, Singapore, Thailand, and New Zealand. However, a ten-day restriction will apply to arrivals from Israel, South Korea, and Thailand due to the COVID-19 situation in these territories.

Moreover, all arrivals from a country that is not listed in the Council’s Recommendation are required to undergo a ten-day isolation period. Nevertheless, the self-isolation period can be shortened if a second negative COVID-19 test is submitted six days after the first one.

Previously, Estonia lifted quarantine restrictions for all persons who cross the border between Estonia and Latvia twice a week for essential purposes.

No comments:

Post a Comment