Monday, May 24, 2021

Estonia Allows Quarantine-Free Entry for Arrivals From Bulgaria, Poland, Hungary & Liechtenstein

The Government of Estonia has updated the list of countries subject to a ten-day restriction requirement when entering the country in a bid to control the spread of the COVID-19 and its variants. The latter has also moved several countries to the list of countries against which entry restrictions will no longer apply.

The newly updated list of countries enters into force today, May 24 and will remain effective until May 30, reports.

In a press release issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, it was revealed that starting from today, arrivals from Slovakia will be subject to quarantine restrictions when entering Estonia, as the country was moved to the Coronavirus highly affected list of countries.

Except for Slovakia, entry restrictions currently apply to Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Netherlands, Slovenia, and Spain.

It should be noted that the indicator of Vatican City is zero. However, when travelling from there to Estonia via Italy, all arrivals will be subject to the ten-day restriction.

Thus, all arrivals from a European Union, European Economic Area or Schengen Area country that has registered an infection rate higher than 150 cases per 100,000 residents during the last 14 days will be subject to the ten-day quarantine requirement.

On the other hand, the restrictions on freedom of movement will no longer apply to Bulgaria, Poland, Hungary, and Liechtenstein as the countries have registered fewer Coronavirus cases during the last two weeks.

Except for the newly added countries, the restrictions do not apply either to Ireland, Iceland, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Finland, Hungary, and the United Kingdom.

Last week, Monaco was moved to the list of countries that will no longer be subject to quarantine requirements upon entering Estonia.

Arrivals From Third Countries

Based on the Council of the European Union Recommendation, the EU countries should start to gradually lift the entry ban for arrivals from Australia, Israel, South Korea, Rwanda, Singapore, Thailand, and New Zealand, reaching the block for non-essential purposes.

Arrivals from all of the above third countries are currently permitted to enter Estonia. Nevertheless, due to the infection rate in South Korea and Thailand, which is more than 16 cases per 100,000 residents, arrivals from these two need to quarantine in Estonia.

Regardless, the Ministry pointed out that the self-isolation period can be shortened, both for arrivals from the EU and those from third countries, if a negative COVID-19 test is obtained on the sixth day of quarantine.

“While in Estonia, it is then possible to take a second test not earlier than on the sixth day after the first test was taken abroad. A person shall be released from the 10-day isolation obligation before the due date if the results of both tests are negative,” the statement of the Ministry reads.

The Ministry suggests that all unnecessary travel is avoided as travel and return opportunities may change at any time.

Previously, Estonia abolished the quarantine requirement for all persons who cross the border between Estonia and Latvia for essential purposes.

No comments:

Post a Comment