Monday, May 10, 2021

Denmark Permits Israeli Travellers to Enter for Non-Essential Purposes

The Danish authorities have revealed in this week’s announcement that Israel will now be added to the orange list, which means that travellers from Israel can now enter Denmark without the need to test for COVID-19 or isolate upon arrival. The new measure started being valid on Saturday, May 8.

“The result of the EU’s latest review of the country list means that Israel is added to the list. The national covid-19 task force for travel restrictions has assessed the EU list and decided to open up entry to Denmark from Israel,” the statement of the Ministry reads.

In a press release issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, it was indicated that all non-essential travel to and from Israel is highly discouraged due to the latter’s strict entry restrictions for foreign travellers.

Except for Israel, the list of third countries allowed to enter Denmark already includes Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand.

At the same time, the Danish authorities have recalled that since May 8, the citizens of the country are allowed to travel to and from countries placed on the orange list provided that they have been fully vaccinated against the COVID-19, without having to undergo testing or self-isolation upon their return to Denmark.

The authorities also pointed out that from the EU and Schengen Area countries, only Iceland and three regions of Norway still meet the low infection rate criteria. However, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs guidelines for Iceland and Norway suggest that all unnecessary travel be avoided, as these countries have ongoing restrictions against travellers from Denmark.

The list of Denmark’s travel guidelines for third countries is updated weekly based on the EU’s recommendations and the figures of the Statens Serum Institut, reports.

On the other hand, strict requirements remain in place for countries placed on the red list, which represents countries with a high risk of COVID-19 and its mutations. The countries placed on Denmark’s red list include Bangladesh, Botswana, Brazil, Eswatini, India, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, as well as the La Réunion region.

The Ministry has urged that all travel restrictions remain in place for arrivals from countries placed on the red list, including vaccinated individuals as well, in order to contain the spread of the virus in its territory.

Therefore, the exemption for persons who are fully vaccinated or have been infected previously does not apply to persons travelling from red list countries or regions.

Earlier last month, the Danish authorities banned entry to all arrivals from India after the country registered record numbers on COVID-19 infections.

No comments:

Post a Comment