Monday, May 31, 2021

Denmark Allows Restriction-Free Entry for Arrivals From Poland, Bulgaria & Several Other Regions

The Danish authorities have announced that since May 29, arrivals from two countries and eight regions of European Union Member States will be granted restriction-free entry into Denmark.

The relaxation of the restrictions follows the decision from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark, which has updated the travel guidelines for several EU and Schengen Area countries by moving the following countries and regions from the orange list to the yellow one:

  • Poland
  • Bulgaria
  • Austria: Lower Austria, Salzburg
  • Italy: Liguria, Abruzzo, Veneto (including Venice), Umbria
  • Spain: Cantabria
  • France: Corsica

The decision means that all arrivals from the above-mentioned countries and regions are exempt from the quarantine requirement when entering Denmark.

Several other regions were also exempted from the entry requirements earlier this month.

The authorities reiterated that the country’s travel guidelines are updated weekly based on the figures from the Statens Serum Institut (SSI).

However, no other countries or regions have moved from one list to another as the Danish authorities have evaluated that the epidemiological situation in other countries has not improved or worsened during the last weeks, reports.

In addition, the same Ministry revealed that from May 31, Danish citizens will be able to enter Sweden without having to present a negative test result as the latter has updated its entry restrictions.

“The change means that Danish transit travellers to Bornholm and Danes who want to visit their desolate farms in Sweden will no longer be met with test requirements upon entry into Sweden,” the Ministry’s statement reads.

Denmark started the second phase of its reopening plan on May 1, meaning that fully vaccinated travellers and children under 18, who are permanent residents in Denmark, were permitted to travel to countries placed on the orange list.

Two weeks later, the country started phase three of the gradual reopening plan for travel to and from Denmark as it relaxed entry restrictions for countries and regions on the yellow list, exempting the travellers of EU countries from the quarantine requirement.

Phase four of the country’s gradual reopening plan is anticipated to start on June 26.

On the other hand, arrivals from an EU/Schengen Area country placed in the orange list are permitted to enter Denmark for non-essential purposes, but they still need to undergo self-isolation and testing requirements. Nonetheless, those who prove that they have been vaccinated against COVID-19 or have recovered from the virus are exempt from the requirements.

The Ministry advises against all unnecessary travel to countries that keep strict restrictions for travellers from Denmark.

No comments:

Post a Comment