Friday, May 14, 2021

Czechia to Reach Mutual Travel Agreements With Several EU Member States

The Czech Republic’s Government is negotiating bilateral travel agreements with the other EU Member States in order to enable vaccinated Czech citizens to move freely across Europe.

“After a year and a half, people deserve holidays abroad. Our goal is to reach as soon as possible bilateral agreements with the most popular destinations, such as Greece and Croatia,” the Czech Minister of Foreign Affairs Jakub Kulhánek said, after his meeting with the Hungarian counterpart Peter Szijjártó, held in Budapest.

In addition, the Czech Prime Minister Andrej Babiš implied that starting from May 15, citizens of Czechia who have received both COVID-19 vaccine doses should be allowed to travel to Austria, Germany, Poland, Hungary, and Slovenia without being subject to quarantine requirements.

Currently, Czechia has strict entry rules, especially for those travelling from a country placed on its red and dark red list, reports.

Based on the protective measures list released by the Ministry of Health, it has been established that since May 4, all persons who enter the territory of Czechia and show signs of the COVID-19 must immediately undergo a medical examination.

Moreover, all persons who have stayed for more than 12 hours during the last two weeks in a country placed on the orange list, which has a medium risk of COVID-19 transmission, must submit e negative PCR test result, not older than 72 hours, or a rapid antigen test result, not older than 24 hours when entering the country.

Additionally, they are required to fill in the electronic Passenger Locator Form.

Similarly, those who have stayed for more than 12 hours during the last two weeks in a country placed on the red list, which represents countries with a very high risk of Coronavirus transmission, or in a country placed on the dark red list, which represents countries with extreme risk, are subject to the same entry rules as those placed on the orange list.

However, they are required to undergo a second PCR or rapid antigen test after the fifth day of entering Czechia and stay self-isolated until a negative test result is submitted.

According to a press release issued by the Czech Ministry of Interior, travelling to countries with an extreme risk of COVID-19 is currently forbidden.

Thus, as of April 27, the government banned travel to and from India, and several other countries, including Botswana, Brazil, Swaziland, South Africa, Kenya, Columbia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Peru, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

In contrast, Czechia lifted self-isolation and testing requirements for all arrivals from Israel, as the latter’s COVID-19 situation has significantly improved.

No comments:

Post a Comment