Sunday, May 9, 2021

Czechia Lifts Quarantine & Testing Requirements for Arrivals from Israel

Citizens of Israel will be permitted to enter the Czech Republic without being required to take a PCR test or follow quarantine rules upon their arrival, as the latter has placed Israel on the list of countries that have recently reported fewer cases of COVID-19 infection, following a recommendation of the EU Council.

Czechia’s Ministry of Health decision, based on figures provided by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), will take effect on May 10, reports.

In addition, Slovakia and the Canary Islands will move to the COVID-19 medium-risk countries’ group, which means that all persons who plan to return to Czechia from both of these countries will have to present a negative result of the COVID-19 test, upon their arrival, if they use public transport to return.

Non-essential travel continues to be banned due to the rapid spread of COVID-19 and its new strains. Besides, persons who wish to enter the Czech Republic must meet some requirements depending on the level of risk in their country of origin.

Based on ECDC’s data, the countries are divided into green, orange, red, dark red, and black categories.

The green category includes countries that are considered safe, with lower rates of COVID-19 infection; therefore, citizens from this category are exempted from test requirements or self-isolation rules upon their arrival in the Czech Republic.

Besides Israel, this group includes the Vatican City State, South Korea, Australia, Singapore, New Zealand, and Thailand.

Citizens from medium-risk countries or the orange group will have to prove that they have tested negative for the Coronavirus if they use public transport to return to Czechia.

The country’s Ministry of Health has confirmed that Slovakia and the Canary Islands will move to the orange category from May 10. Besides both of these countries, the list of medium risk countries includes Norway, Finland, Ireland, Iceland, Malta, Portugal, and the Balearic Islands.

The red category includes countries considered highly affected by the Coronavirus. Citizens coming from the red list of countries will have to follow the exact same requirements as those applied for the orange group when heading to Czechia. In addition, they will have to submit a second COVID-19 PCR test taken in Czechia within five days of entry and undergo quarantine until they receive a negative test result.

This group includes Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, Denmark, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Luxembourg, Austria, Latvia,  Poland, Estonia, Romania, Hungary, Germany, Greece, Switzerland, Slovenia, Spain, and San Marino.

As for the dark red list, in this group are placed all of the EU Member States and non-EU countries that are not mentioned in any of the categories above and are considered profoundly affected by the disease.

The Czech Republic’s Ministry of Health urges all persons to avoid travel, unless absolutely necessary, due to the COVID-19  situation, especially persons placed in the black category, which includes countries with an extreme risk of the virus.

The black list includes Botswana, India, Brazil, South Africa, Colombia, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, Malawi,  Peru, Swaziland / Eswatini, Tanzania (including Zanzibar and Pemba), Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Last week, authorities in the Czech Republic placed Estonia, Hungary, Poland, San Marino, and Slovenia on the red list after estimating these countries reported many COVID-19 infections.

No comments:

Post a Comment