Tuesday, May 4, 2021

Czechia Imposes Testing & Quarantine Restrictions for Arrivals From Estonia, Hungary, Poland, Slovenia & San Marino

The Czech Republic’s Government has placed Estonia, Hungary, Poland, Slovenia, and San Marino on the list of countries that have been heavily affected by the COVID-19, also known as the red list, due to an increase of cases.

At the same time, the Azores and Norway have been placed on the orange list of countries, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

The decision of the Ministry of Health of Czechia came after considering the updated figures from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), which shows the level of risk in other countries, and has been effective since May 3.

Based on the data provided by the ECDC, the countries have been categorized into four different groups based on the level of the Coronavirus risk.

In a press release issued by the Ministry of Health, it was explained that all persons returning from a country placed on the dark red list, which currently includes European Union countries and third countries that are not listed in any other category, must undergo COVID-19 testing before entering the Czech Republic’s territory.

It was previously reported that Lithuania was added in the dark red category.

Except for Estonia, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, and San Marino that have been recently added to the red list, the category already includes Belgium, Denmark, Bulgaria, Italy, Monaco, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Latvia, Greece, Austria, Romania, Germany, Slovakia, Switzerland, Spain and the Canary Islands.

All persons returning to the Czech Republic after staying in one of the countries mentioned above are obliged to fill in the arrival form as well as undergo a PCR test before entering the territory and a second test, not later than five days upon entry in Czechia. Until the second test results are out, everyone must stay self-isolated.

“For returns from countries with a high risk of infection (red category) and from countries with intermediate-risk disease (orange category) will test before returning to the Czech Republic to request only if that person uses public transport to return,” the Ministry of Health statement reads.

According to the Ministry, changes were also made on the orange list, which includes countries with lower risk than those placed on the dark red or red category. Except for Finland, Ireland, Malta, Portugal, and the Balearic Islands, the list will now include Azores and Norway.

At present, countries that have reported fewer cases of the COVID-19, which belong to the green list, are exempt from all the restrictions. The category includes Vatican City, Australia, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore and Thailand.

On the other hand, the Ministry has banned travel to countries where the COVID-19 mutations have widely spread, including Botswana, Brazil, India, South Africa, Kenya, Colombia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Peru, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Taking into account the rapid spread of Coronavirus mutations across Europe, the ECDC recommends that all persons postpone their travel plans unless it is essential.

No comments:

Post a Comment