Monday, May 24, 2021

Czech Republic Obliges Arrivals From Croatia, Netherlands & San Marino to Quarantine & Undergo Testing

Based on the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) figures, the Ministry of Health of Czechia has announced that Croatia, Netherlands, and San Marino have been placed on the COVID-19 high-risk list. On the other hand, Romania has been moved to the orange category.

The new changes will be effective from today, May 24, reports.

According to the data provided by the ECDC, the countries have been categorized into different groups based on their epidemiological situation, more precisely into the dark red, red, orange, and green list.

The dark red list includes the EU Member States as well as third countries that are not mentioned in any of the forthcoming categories.

A month ago, Lithuania was added to the dark red list due to the high COVID-19 infection levels.

As for the red list, which consists of countries with a high risk of COVID-19, the Ministry revealed that arrivals from countries placed on it, which will now also include Croatia, Netherlands, and San Marino, are obliged to undergo testing before entering the Czech Republic.

In addition, everyone is required to provide a second negative PCR test taken in Czechia within five days of entry and stay self-isolated until a negative test result is received. Filling in the arrival form before entering Czechia is also mandatory.

The red list already includes Bulgaria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Monaco, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Andorra, Latvia, Greece, Austria, Poland, Estonia, Hungary, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, and Spain.

Citizens from medium-risk countries, also known as the orange list, are required to provide a negative COVID-19 test only if they have used any form of public transportation to return to Czechia.

“For returns from countries with a high risk of infection and from countries with a medium risk of infection, the test will be required before returning to the Czech Republic only if the person uses public transport to return,” the Ministry’s statement reads.

Except for Romania that was added to the orange list today, the category already includes Finland, Norway, Ireland, the Canary Islands, Malta, Portugal, and the Balearic Islands.

In contrast, the green list includes countries with lower infection rates, which are considered safe. Thus, all arrivals from a country placed on the green list are exempt from self-isolation and testing requirements when entering the Czech Republic.

The green list currently includes Iceland, Vatican City, Australia, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore, and Thailand.

At the beginning of the month, Israel was also added to the Czech Republic’s green list.

Additionally, those travelling to Czechia from a EU+ country placed in the red and orange category are also exempt from the quarantine and testing requirements, provided that they have been fully vaccinated against the COVID-19.

Conversely, the authorities have banned entry to all arrivals from a country where the Coronavirus variants have widely spread. The entry ban applies to arrivals from Botswana, Brazil, Colombia, South Africa, Lesotho, Mozambique, Malawi, Nepal, Swaziland, Peru, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Previously, the authorities of Czechia announced that the government is in the process of negotiating bilateral travel agreements with the other EU Member States to enable vaccinated Czech citizens to move freely in Europe.

No comments:

Post a Comment