Thursday, May 6, 2021

Cyprus Updates Entry Rules for Arrivals From Iceland & Malta Amid COVID-19

Authorities in Cyprus have updated the list of affected countries from the Coronavirus disease, which will take effect from May 6.

According to the announcement of Cyprus’ government, Iceland has moved from green to orange list due to an increase in the number of infections. Simultaneously, Malta has moved from red to orange group after estimating that the latter has recently reported fewer COVID-19 infection cases.

All persons wishing to enter Cyprus’ territory from today should follow the categorization of their country of origin in the list of territories affected by the virus in order to get detailed information regarding the requirements they should follow before entering Cyprus, reports.

“The categorization for the countries of the European Union and the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) as well as Switzerland, in the Green, Orange or Red Categories, is based on the recommendation of the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC),” Cyprus’ government has announced through a statement.

Based on the data provided by ECDC, Cyprus has classified countries into green, orange, red and grey categories.

Green Category – Countries With Low Infection Rates

Currently, this group includes New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Singapore, and Israel.

Persons from any of the countries mentioned above are not required to hold a COVID-19 test certificate or follow quarantine rules upon their arrival.

Orange Category – Medium Risk Countries

Travellers coming from the orange category will be required to present a negative result of the PCR test, not older than 72 hours.

This category includes the following countries:

  • European Union Member States: Ireland, Portugal, Finland, and Malta.
  • Schengen members: Norway, Iceland.
  • Third countries: The United Kingdom, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Thailand.

Red Category – Countries Highly Affected by the COVID-19

Travellers from the red category will have to present a negative result of the COVID-19 test upon arrival and undergo a second  COVID-19 test after they enter Cyprus.

This group includes the following territories:

  • European Union Member States: Belgium, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia,    Luxembourg, Romania, Italy,  Spain, Greece, Hungary, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia,  Denmark, Slovenia, Estonia,  Czech Republic, Latvia, Sweden, Lithuania, Germany.
  • Small states: Andorra, Vatican City, Monaco, San Marino.
  • Schengen members: Liechtenstein, Switzerland.
  • Third countries: Rwanda, Russia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Egypt, Lebanon, Belarus, Serbia, Qatar, United States of America, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrein.

All other countries not mentioned in the categories above are included on the Grey list of countries.

As for the Grey group, the entry will be permitted only for the following categories.

  1. Cyprus’ citizens and family members,
  2. Citizens of European and European Economic Area countries (Liechtenstein, Iceland, Norway) and Switzerland,
  3. Citizens legally residing in Cyprus,
  4. Citizens authorized to enter the country under the Vienna Convention,
  5. Third-country nationals, who are permitted to enter the Republic of Cyprus, following special permission from the Republic.

Except for category number two above, the rest of the travellers must undergo the COVID-19 test upon their arrival at their own expense.

All persons arriving in Cyprus from this category must remain self-isolated for 14 days. The quarantine period can be shortened if persons take a second COVID-19 test on the seventh day of their arrival, and the result is negative.

No comments:

Post a Comment