Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Cyprus to Allow Restriction-Free Entry for Arrivals From Iceland, While Slovakia Moves to Red Category

The authorities of Cyprus announced changes on the list of COVID-19 affected countries in line with the decision of the Council of Ministers, which will take effect on May 20.

Based on Cyprus’ Government announcement, the new changes establish that travellers from Iceland will no longer be subject to testing and the requirement to provide a negative Coronavirus test result or self-isolate as Iceland will move from the orange category to the green one.

On the other hand, travellers from Slovakia will be required to undergo two COVID-19 tests, one before and another after their arrival in Cyprus, as well as stay self-isolated since the country will move from the orange category, where it was positioned on the previous announcement, to the red one.

“The following categorization of countries, based on the epidemiological risk assessment, is extremely dynamic and may be modified at any moment as the pandemic evolves and the epidemiological data changes. For this reason, new data will be announced, and the list of countries will be updated frequently,” the Government’s press release notes.

In accordance with the figures provided by ECDC, Cyprus classifies countries into four different categories, green, orange, red, and grey, SchengenVisaInfo.com reports.

The green category, which represents countries with a low risk of Coronavirus infection, currently includes Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and Israel. All arrivals from this category are exempt from all the entry requirements.

In contrast, travellers entering Cyprus from a country placed in the orange category must submit a negative COVID-19 test not older than 72 hours.

The orange category includes the following countries:

  • European Union Member States: Portugal, Ireland, Finland, Malta
  • Schengen Area countries: Norway
  • Third countries: China (including Macau and Hong Kong), the United Kingdom, Thailand

As for the arrivals from countries placed on the red category, Cyprus has imposed stricter entry restrictions. All travellers are required to undergo COVID-19 testing 72 hours before entering Cyprus and a second after they enter the country.

The red category currently includes the following countries:

  • European Union Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Italy, Greece, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Denmark, Slovenia, Czechia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, Germany, Slovakia
  • Microstates: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino
  • Schengen Area countries: Switzerland and Liechtenstein
  • Third countries: Rwanda, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, United States of America, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrain

When it comes to the countries that were not listed in any of the categories above, they are all included in the grey category.

Previously, it was reported that Cyprus decided to welcome tourists from 65 countries all over the world without being subject to quarantine or testing requirements. Thus, becoming the first EU Member State to announce such a decision.

No comments:

Post a Comment