Saturday, May 29, 2021

Citizens of 14 Countries Will Be Subject to Quarantine Upon Arrival in Estonia

Estonia’s government has announced that citizens of 14 countries will be subject to restrictions on freedom of movement, upon their arrival, due to the high infection rates recently reported in these territories.

According to a statement published by Estonia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the following countries will be obliged to follow ten-day mandatory quarantine rule when planning to head to Estonia:

  • Andorra
  • Belgium
  • the Netherlands
  • Croatia
  • Greece
  • Cyprus
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Latvia
  • France
  • Sweden
  • Slovenia
  • Switzerland
  • Denmark

The country’s government clarifies that such a decision will be kept in place until June 6, reports.

The Baltic state’s authorities have continuously emphasized that citizens from the European Economic Area, the European Union and the Schengen Zone countries, which have recently reported an infection rate of more than 150 people per 100,000 inhabitants, will be subject to the ten-day restriction on freedom of movement rule.

Based on Estonia’s government announcement, the following countries will be excluded from mandatory quarantine upon their arrival; Bulgaria, Austria, Ireland, Spain, Iceland, Italy, Malta, Monaco, Liechtenstein, Poland, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Germany, Slovakia, Finland, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Hungary and the United Kingdom.

Citizens planning to enter the country from Australia, South Korea, Rwanda, Singapore, Israel, Thailand and New Zealand are permitted to do so.

Still, South Korea and Thailand have reported an infection rate of more than 16 people per 100,000 inhabitants during the past two weeks; therefore, they will be obliged to remain self-isolated for ten days when reaching Estonia.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs clarifies the quarantine period can be shortened for all citizens of EU and non-EU countries if they take a second COVID-19 test on the sixth day of isolation and the result is negative.

“While in Estonia, it is then possible to take a second test not earlier than on the sixth day after the first test was taken abroad. A person shall be released from the 10-day isolation obligation before the due date if the results of both tests are negative,” the statement notes.

The same Ministry urges all citizens not to travel abroad for unnecessary reasons to halt the spread of the virus and its new strains.

Still, many people consider such a thing problematic, especially ahead of the summer season; therefore, the country’s authorities announced they would start issuing the EU Digital COVID-19 passport, which aims to make the travel process easier for all persons who have taken the vaccine against the disease.

Up to this point, Estonia has reported more than 129,420 cases of COVID-19 infections and 1,250 deaths.

No comments:

Post a Comment