Friday, May 28, 2021

Britons Are Now Subject to Quarantine Requirement When Entering Switzerland

Switzerland’s Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) has once again updated the list of COVID-19 highly affected countries and regions. Following the update, the Swiss authorities have announced that since yesterday, May 27, the United Kingdom has been added to the list of countries where a worrying COVID-19 mutation has widely spread.

Consequently, all persons, including children, will be required to stay self-isolated for ten days when entering Switzerland after staying in the UK, reports.

Except for the UK, Switzerland has already added the following countries to the list where Coronavirus mutations have widely spread:

  • Brazil
  • India
  • Canada
  • Nepal
  • South Africa

The rules establish that arrivals from the above-mentioned countries are also subject to the same restrictions as those from the UK.

FOPH highlighted that even those who present a negative COVID-19 test result, as well as those who took the vaccine, will still have to quarantine after entering from a country placed on the high-risk list.

“This is because a negative test result does not completely rule out an infection with the coronavirus,” the statement of the Federal Office of Public Health reads.

Nevertheless, the self-isolation period can be shortened if travellers present a negative PCR or rapid antigen test taken on the seventh day of quarantine. The test is free of charge.

In cases when the quarantine is shortened, all persons will be required to wear a mask when outside their home or accommodation as well as keep a distance of 1.5 metres from other people.

In contrast, if someone tests positive during the self-isolation period, they must remain in quarantine for another ten days.

Based on the latest figures from the FOPH, the following regions of neighbouring countries of Switzerland are placed on the COVID-19 highly affected list:

  • Italy: Apulia region, Campania region
  • Germany: The State of Saxony and the State of Thuringia
  • France: Centre-Val de Loire région, Hauts-de-France région, Île-de-France region, Normandy region, Occitanie région, Pays de la Loire region, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region

Other countries that are also currently placed on the high-risk list are Andorra, Argentina, Bahrain, Belgium, Cabo Verde, Chile, Costa Rica, Estonia, Egypt, Georgia, Iran, Colombia, Croatia, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Mexico, Mongolia, Netherlands, Paraguay, Sweden, Seychelles, Slovenia, Tanzania, Turkey, Uruguay, and Cyprus.

Switzerland plans to abolish the quarantine requirement for vaccinated travellers entering the country and those who have recovered from the COVID-19. However, a specific date has not been given yet.

Similar to other EU countries, Switzerland recognises only the vaccines authorised by the European Medicines Agency (EMA), including Pfizer, Moderna, Johnson & Johnson, and AstraZeneca.

Previously, Switzerland removed Qatar, Poland, Serbia, Palestine, Hungary and several regions of France, Italy, and Austria from its COVID-19 high-risk list.

No comments:

Post a Comment